Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Reva Siegel: 18th Annual Robert H. Jackson Lecture on the Supreme Court of the United States at Chautauqua Institution

July 11, 2022 @ 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm


Reva Siegel will give the 18th Annual Robert H. Jackson Lecture on the Supreme Court of the United States. Siegel is the Nicholas deB. Katzenbach Professor of Law at Yale Law School, where her scholarship draws on legal history to explore questions of law and inequality and to analyze how courts interact with representative government and popular movements in interpreting the Constitution.

Her recent articles include: “Answering the Lochner Objection: Substantive Due Process and the Role of Courts in a Democracy,” 96 N.Y.U.L. Rev. (2021) (with Douglas NeJaime); “When Guns Threaten the Public Sphere: A New Account of Public Safety Regulation Under Heller,” 115 Nw. L. Rev.139 (2021) (with Joseph Blocher); “Why Restrict Abortion? Expanding the Frame on June Medical,” 2020 Sup Ct Rev. 277 (2021); “The Nineteenth Amendment and the Democratization of the Family,” 129 Yale L.J.F. 450 (2020); “The Constitutionalization of Disparate Impact—Court-Centered and Popular Pathways,” 106 Cal. L. Rev. 2001 (2019); “Community in Conflict: Same-Sex Marriage and Backlash,” 64 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 1728 (2017); and “Conscience Wars: Complicity-Based Conscience Claims in Religion and Politics,” 124 Yale L.J. (2015) (with Douglas NeJaime).

Chautauqua Institution’s Robert H. Jackson Lecture is named in honor of the former Chautauquan, Jamestown lawyer, New Dealer, Solicitor General, Attorney General, Supreme Court justice, and Nuremberg chief prosecutor. Every summer the Jackson Lecture is a leading expert discussing the Supreme Court, the Justices, signal decisions, and related legal developments.

Chautauqua’s previous Jackson Lecturers have been Geoffrey Stone (2005), Linda Greenhouse (2006), Seth Waxman (2007), Jeffrey Toobin (2008), Paul Clement (2009), Jeff Shesol (2010), Dahlia Lithwick (2011), Pamela Karlan (2012), Charles Fried (2013), Akhil Amar (2014), Laurence Tribe (2015), Tracey Meares (2016), Judge Jon O. Newman (2017), Justice Rosalie Silberman Abella of Canada’s Supreme Court (2018), Donald B. Verrilli, Jr. (2019), Ruth Marcus (2020) and Melissa Murray (2021).

This event is live at the Hall of Philosophy and is also offered to subscribers of CHQ Assembly. Purchase tickets for in-person or online through Chautauqua Institution at the link below.


July 11, 2022
3:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Event Category:


Chautauqua Institution
View Organizer Website