Inspire teachers to tell the story of Justice Jackson's life, work, and legacy.

Jackson Center Board Chair David Crane speaking with students via Skype during a lesson plan on the International Criminal Court.
Credit: The Robert H. Jackson Center

The Robert H. Jackson teacher fellows are a community of skilled educators who collaborate with the Center to create quality educational materials that meet common core standards and can be easily incorporated into classroom curriculum. To be accepted into the program, educators must demonstrate excellence in the classroom, participate in community and professional organizations, and communicate the importance of Justice Jackson and his contributions to our world. In turn, the participants will share his legacy with their students, colleagues, and communities.


  •  Any certified elementary or secondary level educator teaching in Western New York or Northwest Pennsylvania with at least three years classroom     experience.
  •  The candidate must be scheduled to be teaching at their school for the 2015-16 school year.
  •  Exemplary educational accomplishments beyond the classroom.
  •  An engaging and inspiring presence that motivates students, colleagues and the community.
Melissa Becker, 2014 Teacher Fellow, Warren Area High School
Credit: The Robert H. Jackson Center

As Robert H. Jackson Teacher Fellows, educators will work closely with the Jackson Center’s staff to develop new teaching materials using the Center’s primary resources. They will have the opportunity to share their knowledge and best practices with other educators by demonstrating these materials at workshops and training sessions throughout the region.

The Teacher Fellowship program began in 2013. The Fellows selected in 2013 were, Junie Eimiller, Southwestern High School; James Gang, Hamburg High School; Lynn Miller Kutschke, Pine Valley High School; and Dr. Timothy Redmond, Williamsville East High School. In 2014 the Center welcomed three new Fellows, Melissa Becker, Warren Area High School; Caroline Hayes Youngsville Elementary Middle School; and Daiman Parinella, Washington Middle School.

During the summer of 2015 the third class of teacher fellows started working on their projects. The teachers selected in 2015 were ,Gregory Birner and Laura Wilson, Westfield Academy and Central School, Wendy M. Dyment, Cassadaga Valley Central School, Melissa Wadsworth-Miller, Tonawanda Middle/High School, and Kim Joslyn, a Library Media Specialist at Chautauqua Lake Central School.