Robert H. Jackson Center

IHLD 2011

"Widespread and Systematic!"--Crimes Against Humanity in the Shadow of Modern International Criminal Law

The 5th annual International Humanitarian Law Dialogs, co-sponsored by the Robert H. Jackson Center at the Chautauqua Institution, was an historic gathering of renowned international prosecutors from Nuremberg through present day and leading professionals in the international humanitarian law field. This unique three day event, held August 28-30, enabled participants and the public to engage in meaningful dialog concerning past and contemporary crimes against humanity and the role of modern international criminal law.

The Dialogs culminated with the issuance of the Fifth Chautauqua Declaration, signed by the prosecutors in attendance. Click on the link below to view the entire Declaration.
  • Fifth Chautauqua Declaration (489.62 KB)

  • Click here to view a photo album of the 2011 Law Dialogs.
    (You do not need to be a Facebook user to view this album.)

  • Prosecutors

    For biography, click on the name

    Fatou Bensouda
    International Criminal Court

    Serge Brammertz
    International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

    Andrew T. Cayley
    Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia

    H.W. William Caming
    United States Military Tribunal, Nuremberg

    David M. Crane
    Special Court for Sierra Leone

    James Arguin
    International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

    James Johnson
    Special Court for Sierra Leone

    Daryl Mundis
    Special Tribunal for Lebanon

    Robert Petit
    Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia

    Ambassador Stephen Rapp
    Ambassador at Large for War Crimes Issues


    Diane Marie Amann
    University of Georgia School of Law

    John Q. Barrett
    St. John's University School of Law

    M. Cherif Bassiouni
    DePaul University School of Law

    Ambassador Hans Corell
    Legal Affairs and the Legal Counsel of the United Nations

    Mark Drumbl
    Washington and Lee University School of Law

    Mark Ellis
    International Bar Association

    Mike Newton
    Vanderbilt University School of Law

    Leila Nadya Sadat
    Washington University, St. Louis School of Law

    Beth Van Schaack
    Santa Clara University School of Law

    William Schabas
    Irish Center for Human Rights, National University of Ireland, Galway

    Michael P. Scharf
    Case Western University School of Law

    Amb. David J. Scheffer
    Northwestern University Law School

    Sponsoring Organizations: American Society for International Law; Case Western Reserve University School of Law; Chautauqua County Occupancy Tax; Chautauqua Institution; Enough! Project; Gebbie Foundation; IntLawGrrls; Jefferson Educational Society: Erie's Think Tank for Community Progress; Johnson Foundation; Planethood Foundation; Robert H. Jackson Center; Scandinavian Studies Program; Syracuse University College of Law; TitanX Engine Cooling; Washington University / Whitney R. Harris World Law Institute